Working to keep the West special

Colorado Communities for Climate Action

Colorado Communities for Climate Action is a new coalition of local governments, launched in 2016, that advocates for state and federal policies to protect Colorado’s climate for current and future generations.

The state and federal actions CC4CA seeks are needed to complement the strong local climate actions CC4CA members already have underway, to keep Colorado a special place to live, to work, to enjoy. The local governments in CC4CA have discovered that their local actions, by themselves, cannot do enough to protect their communities from a changing climate, and that it is necessary for them to work together to bring about the framework of state and federal actions that must be combined with local actions.

CC4CA, although administered by the Rocky Mountain Climate Organization, has its own, separate website, where more information on the coalition, its members, and its activities can be found.

Already, the coalition represents more than one-eighth of all Coloradans, and more local governments are currently considering joining CC4CA.

The initial 16 members of CC4CA are Boulder County, City of Fort Collins, City of Westminster, City of Boulder, Eagle County, Summit County, City of Lafayette, City of Golden, Pitkin County, San Miguel County, City of Aspen, Town of Vail, Town of Basalt, Town of Frisco, Town of Telluride, and Town of Mountain Village.